Search…
⌃K
Links

Creating, editing, or deleting a workspace

Options for creating a workspace

When you create a new workspace, you can either:

Creating a completely new workspace

To create a completely new workspace, either:
  • On the Workspaces view, click Create Workspace > New Workspace.
  • In the top toolbar, click New Workspace > New Workspace.
Options to create a new workspace

Creating a copy of a workspace

To create a workspace based on an existing workspace, either:
  • If the workspace to copy is currently selected, then in the top toolbar, click the copy workspace icon (
    ).
  • On the Workspaces view, click the actions menu for the workspace, then select Copy.
Workspace options column and dropdown list
Admin users can create a copy of any workspace. Other users can only create a copy of a workspace that they own.

Creating a child workspace

Requires an Enterprise license.
You can create a workspace that is a child of an existing workspace. You cannot create a child workspace of another child workspace.
The parent workspace must have a source database configured. You cannot create a child workspace from a workspace that uses the Databricks, Spark (Amazon EMR or self-managed Spark cluster), or MongoDB data connector.
To create a child workspace of the currently selected workspace, either:
  • From the Workspaces view, click Create Workspace > Child Workspace.
  • From the top toolbar, click New Workspace > Child Workspace. If the current workspace cannot be a parent workspace, then the Child Workspace option is disabled.
On the New Workspace view, the Child Workspace panel has Parent Workspace set to the original workspace.
New Child Workspace view for a child workspace
If you originally chose to create a completely new workspace, then on the New Workspace view:
Create Child Workspace option on the New Workspace view
  1. 1.
    To change to a child workspace, select Create Child Workspace from the Create a child workspace panel at the right. Tonic adds the Child Workspace panel to the New Workspace view.
  2. 2.
    From the Parent Workspace dropdown list, select the parent workspace for the new child workspace.

Editing a workspace

To edit the configuration for an existing workspace, either:
  • If the workspace you want to edit is currently selected, then in the top toolbar, click the edit icon (
    ).
  • On the Workspaces view, click the actions menu for the workspace, then select Edit Configuration.

Workspace configuration settings

The New Workspace or Edit Workspace view specifies information about the workspace and the workspace data.

Common workspace fields

All workspaces have the following fields, used to identify the workspace and indicate the connector type:
  1. 1.
    In the Workspace name field, enter the name of the workspace.
  2. 2.
    In the Workspace description field, provide a brief description of the workspace. The description can contain up to 200 characters.
  3. 3.
    In the Tags field, provide a comma-separated list of tags to assign to the workspace. For more information on managing tags, see Assigning tags to a workspace.
  4. 4.
    Under Connection Type, select the type of database to connect to. You cannot change the connection type on a child workspace. The source and destination databases are always of the same type. If you don't see the database that you want to connect to, or you want to have different database types for your source and destination database, contact [email protected]

Connection details

When you select a connector type, Tonic updates the view to display the connection fields used for that connector type. The specific fields can vary based on the connector type.
For most connector types, there is a Source Server section and a Destination Server section.
The Source Server section provides connection information for the source database. You cannot change the source database connection for a child workspace.
The Destination Server section provides connection information for the destination database. Tonic does not create the destination database. It must exist before you generate data.

Common connection settings

The most common connection configuration consists of the following fields:
  • Server - The server where the database is located.
  • Database - The name of the database.
  • Port - The port to connect to to access the database.
  • Username - The username for the account to use to access the database.
  • Password - The password of the specified user.
Source Server might also include the following additional settings:
  • Enable SSL/TLS. By default, SSL is turned on. We strongly recommend that you do not turn off SSL.
  • Trust Server Certificate. Off by default. Indicates whether Tonic should trust the server's certificate.
  • Enable SSH Tunnel. Off by default. Tonic can be connected to an SSH Bastion for additional security.
  • Client Certificate Settings. Allows you to specify your own client certificate for authentication.

Copying source connection details to the destination database

For Destination Server, select Copy Settings from Source to copy the source connection details to the destination database, if both databases are in the same location. Tonic does not copy the connection password.

Testing the database connections

You use the Test Source Connection and Test Destination Connection options to verify that Tonic can use the connection details to connect to the database. Tonic uses the connection details to try to reach the source or destination database, and indicates whether it succeeded or failed. We strongly recommend that you test the connections.

Blocking data generation when there are schema changes

Most connectors have a Block data generation if schema changes detected toggle. The setting is usually in the Source Server section.
By default, the option is turned off.
If this option is turned on, then if Tonic detects any changes to the schema, data generation is blocked until you resolve the schema changes. See Viewing and resolving schema changes.

Deleting a workspace

You can delete workspaces that you no longer need.
You cannot delete a parent workspace. You must first delete all of its child workspaces.
To delete a workspace:
  • If the workspace to delete is currently selected, then in the top toolbar, click the delete icon (
    ).
  • On the Workspaces view, click the actions menu for the workspace, then select Delete.