Links

Creating, editing, or deleting a workspace

Creating a workspace

When you create a new workspace, you can either:

Creating a completely new workspace

Required global permission: Create workspaces
To create a completely new workspace, on Workspaces view, click Create Workspace > New Workspace.

Creating a copy of a workspace

Required workspace permission: Copy workspace (in the workspace to copy)
Or
Required global permission: Copy any workspace
To create a workspace based on an existing workspace, either:
  • On the workspace management view of the workspace to copy, from the workspace actions menu, select Duplicate Workspace.
Workspace actions menu
  • On Workspaces view, click the actions menu for the workspace, then select Duplicate Workspace.
Workspace options column and dropdown list
When you create a copy of a workspace, the copy initially inherits the following workspace configuration:
  • Source and destination database connections
  • Sensitivity designations, including manual designations that override the sensitivity scan results
  • Table mode assignments
  • Generator configuration
  • Subsetting configuration
  • Post-job scripts

Creating a child workspace

Required license: Enterprise
Required workspace permission: Create child workspaces (in the parent workspace)
You can create a workspace that is a child of an existing workspace. You cannot create a child workspace of another child workspace.
The parent workspace must have a source database configured. You cannot create a child workspace from a workspace that uses the Databricks, Spark (Amazon EMR or self-managed Spark cluster), or MongoDB data connector.
To create a child workspace, either:
  • On Workspaces view:
    • Click Create Workspace > Child Workspace.
    • Click the actions menu for the parent workspace, then select Create Child Workspace.
  • On the workspace management view, from the workspace actions menu, select Create Child Workspace.
On the New Workspace view, under Child Workspace, Parent Workspace identifies the parent workspace.
If you used the Create Workspace > Child Workspace option to create the child workspace, then Parent Workspace is not populated. From the Parent Workspace dropdown list, select the parent workspace for the new child workspace.
If you selected the child workspace option for a specific workspace, then Parent Workspace is set to that workspace.
New Child Workspace view for a child workspace
If you originally chose to create a completely new workspace, then on the New Workspace view:
Create Child Workspace option on the New Workspace view
  1. 1.
    To change to a child workspace, select Create Child Workspace from the Create a child workspace panel at the right. Tonic adds the Child Workspace panel to the New Workspace view.
  2. 2.
    From the Parent Workspace dropdown list, select the parent workspace for the new child workspace.

Editing a workspace

Required workspace permission: Configure workspace settings
To edit the configuration for an existing workspace, either:
  • On the workspace management view:
    • On the workspace navigation bar, click Settings.
    • From the workspace actions menu, select Settings.
  • On Workspaces view, click the actions menu for the workspace, then select Settings.

Deleting a workspace

Required workspace permission: Delete workspace
You can delete workspaces that you no longer need.
You cannot delete a parent workspace. You must first delete all of its child workspaces.
To delete a workspace:
  • On the workspace management view, from the workspace actions menu, select Delete Workspace.
  • On the Workspaces view, click the actions menu for the workspace, then select Delete.
Last modified 1mo ago